Business History Books » Business Plans » Free Support Group Non-Commercial Non-Professional
Free Support Group Non-Commercial Non-Professional
Question:
Hi Ozzie, I’ll try to answer all of your questions. >It’s looks like healthierliving as an "org" is set up as a non-profit. >Question I have is how is healthierliving financed?
I am paying for it out of my own pocket. The cost to me is $40 a month for the web space and $35 a year to InterNIC. Are you a paid >employee? When I looked Healther Living and Healthierliving up under the >IRS exempt organizations there was no healthierliving or "healthier living" >registered. Was I spelling it wrong?
I don’t take in any money so I don’t need exempt status from the IRS. I am non-profit because there is no money involved. I own the site and I pay for it. I’m not trying to "make a quick buck" like most other health oriented web sites. (I challenge you to find a single instance of me asking anyone for any money for anything whatsoever anywhere on my web site.) >The fact that the message was cross posted to various newsgroups also has >me concerned. If healthierliving is all it says it is and of high ethics, >I find it hard to see why a free support group non-commercial group would >SPAM newsgroups and people who they are attempting to reach.
I don’t consider it SPAM when I post to the newsgroups I want to reach. Would it have NOT been considered SPAM if I had posted the same message individually to all five news groups? >Somehow there is a disconnect for me. Regarding the "Non-Professional" I’m >not certain what is meant by that.
Healthierliving/Healthy Living is a support group – amateur support group by and for people who have "been there, done that" – and I specifically state that we are not medical professionals nor do we take the place of professional help. why when I went to Delphi’s Privacy Info site, I >received a "Cookie" which said it would persist, "persist" being the word >used on the notice, until 2010. That has me a little >concerned…especially as I didn’t even sign up for anything.
I wasn’t aware of that. I do not work for Delphi. They provide me with the means for having a message board. Perhaps you can ask them >Anyway, I am a little confused as to what healthierliving is all about as >it is registered to: >HEALTHIERLIVING.ORG > Registrant: [snip] > Domain Name: HEALTHIERLIVING.ORG [snip] > Technical Contact, Zone Contact: [snip] > Fax- 707-254-1973 >Thanks for any clarification
I know that information is freely available, but was it absolutely necessary to post it on all five newsgroups? Would you have a problem with me posting your name, address and phone number on newsgroups? Char http://www.healthierliving.org
Response:
Hi Char, It’s looks like healthierliving as an "org" is set up as a non-profit. Question I have is how is healthierliving financed? Are you a paid employee? When I looked Healther Living and Healthierliving up under the IRS exempt organizations there was no healthierliving or "healthier living" registered. Was I spelling it wrong? Thanks for any info. I am always inquisitive as I know that the more names on a service the more valuable the service, so that when something may be stricly noncommercial…at the moment,…it doesn’t mean that the end result or goal is being shared with those people who are signing up. The fact that the message was cross posted to various newsgroups also has me concerned. If healthierliving is all it says it is and of high ethics, I find it hard to see why a free support group non-commercial group would SPAM newsgroups and people who they are attempting to reach. Somehow there is a disconnect for me. Regarding the "Non-Professional" I’m not certain what is meant by that. I was also wondering why when I went to Delphi’s Privacy Info site, I received a "Cookie" which said it would persist, "persist" being the word used on the notice, until 2010. That has me a little concerned…especially as I didn’t even sign up for anything. Anyway, I am a little confused as to what healthierliving is all about as it is registered to: HEALTHIERLIVING.ORG Registrant: Sheryl McKenna (HEALTHIERLIVING4-DOM) 21W144 22nd St Lombard, IL 60148 US Domain Name: HEALTHIERLIVING.ORG Administrative Contact, Billing Contact: (630)261-0559 Technical Contact, Zone Contact: 707-259-2909 Fax- 707-254-1973 Record last updated on 26-Feb-99. Database last updated on 29-Mar-99 13:32:43 EST. Domain servers in listed order: NS1.EHOST.COM 206.132.172.2 NS2.EHOST.COM 206.132.172.16 Thanks for any clarification Ozzie Gontang Maintainer – rec.running FAQ Director, San Diego Marathon Clinic, est. 1975 Mindful Running: http://www.mindfulness.com – Hide quoted text — Show quoted text -> If you feel like you need help and support to get back in shape, stop > smoking, or just plain get into a healthy lifestyle, please join us at > Healthy Living. > We’re a one of thousands of free forums sponsored by Delphi Internet > Services
